Islamic Awareness Still Needed

I used to think that making posts like “Not all Arabs are Muslim and not all Muslims are Arab were getting kind of old. Like everyone has to know that by now right?

NOT.

I’m online and see people not knowing the most basic things about Islam and Muslims too.

My friend at a prety prestigious university NYU were so shocked to find out that Pakistanis weren’t Arab when the Muslim chaplain went to go talk to them, and that all Muslims weren’t Arab. These are supposed to be the upper tier smart kids of our country.

But I still see it as partly my fault. I guess I thought we were doing all we could in terms of basic awareness but the truth is there will always be someone who doesn’t know.

So, bear with me with the basic Islamic awareness posts coming up.

16 Comments »

  1. salahudin Said:

    islamic awareness is pretty low amongst muslims too. they still believe islam is “perfect” and incredible crap like that… lol.

    PS: i’m an apostate of islam. check out the blog i belogn to

  2. hey salahudin

    some people believe Islam is perfect after dedicating their lives to studying the sciences and history of the religion, so I don’t think it has much to do with awareness
    but yes islamic awareness is low among Muslims too but in a completely different way
    not in the same way as non-Muslims
    best

  3. salahudin Said:

    i see you’re also not islamically aware.

    that’s okay. followers of religion are often brainwashed into it to begin with so you can’t expect them to view it objectively.

  4. Thanks so much, but I have to disagree again.
    All of the things that people say against religion and Islam, I’ve heard and the arguments are so feeble it makes one’s faith stronger.
    I am very Islamically aware. To assume that every follower of religion is brainwashed because they disagree with you is very erroneous and quite bigoted. Thanks
    Also there are people that haven’t followed a religion all of their lives and have been guided into religion, not by being brainwashed.

  5. salahudin Said:

    the people who opt for religion are either misguided or brainwashed.

    and no, knowing religion brainwashes its adherents is an objective analysis which does not require “hatred” as a necessary ingredient. :/

    you seem to be a bit angry about the fact that i have a differing opinion from yours about faith…

    anyways, when you say “all arguments against islam are weak”; it shows me you have no idea what you’re talking about.

    you know what qualifies my opinion over yours? i’ve been a muslim and i used to think exactly like you. no one could get through to me, no matter how strong their arguments against islam… until i developed the courage to critically analyze islam – which by definition necessitates adopting a neutral and unbiased stance.

    human psychology sees what it wants to see. which is why the scientific method is much better: it does not accept such human bias. 🙂

    you may get around to it eventually. or maybe not. doesn’t matter. here’s a nice quote for you: to you, your beliefs, to me, mine.

    just keep islam out of my life and everywhere else where it doesn’t belong. hint: politics. 😛

  6. parallelsidewalk Said:

    Whoa….No wonder people look at me funny when I say I’m an arab!

  7. you know what qualifies my opinion over yours? i’ve been a muslim and i used to think exactly like you. no one could get through to me, no matter how strong their arguments against islam…

    I don’t think you know my thoughts. You claim to be completely objective, I don’t think that’s possible. I know I’m not objective.

    the people who opt for religion are either misguided or brainwashed.

    You sound like a Christian fundamentalist or a Muslim extremist. 🙂

  8. “you know what qualifies my opinion over yours? I’ve been a Muslim and i used to think exactly like you. no one could get through to me, no matter how strong” their arguments against Islam…
    It’s clear you don’t know my thought nor do you know anything about me and my struggle with religion so I don’t think you should discredit it so fast. Just because you left it does not make you some kind of an expert on it. Some people that left it don’t know a lick about it.I don’t come from an environment where Islamic criticism is taboo. You shouldn’t assume people are afraid of criticism. You claim to be completely objective, I don’t think that’s possible. I know I’m not objective but I do know that what brought me back to Islam was my thinking critically about things and much research. So again you shouldn’t assume me to be a mirror of you.
    I don’t think the arguments against Islam are strong. (shrug)

    “the people who opt for religion are either misguided or brainwashed.”

    You sound like a Christian fundamentalist or a Muslim extremist. 🙂

    All you have to do is replace the word religion with atheism or another religion 🙂

  9. salahudin Said:

    i never claimed i’m completely objective all the time. i know human limitations, thank you. 🙂

    as for assuming you’re a mirror of the way i was & for the strong opinion on theists:

    you’re right. my bad; i wasn’t feeling very constructive when i wrote that. heh.

    i take it back and apologize. 🙂

  10. Im shocked by what you wrote , that people still think that all arabs are muslim , its like christians when they turn around and say 2 you but you believe in Allah , Im like no , that is the arabic word for god ,a christian arab would call god allah .
    people don’t know , then again were all ignorant in different ways are we not ?

  11. salahudin- if people did no have faith , everyone around us would be commiting suicide , because what hope would their be left to live with ?!
    religion gives people hope , people make hate , not the actual religion itself .

  12. salahudin Said:

    consfusedaboutlife: you really ARE confused about life! 😛

    contrary to the lies that religion teaches people, you can have a wonderful, productive and happy life without believing in any religion whatsoever. 🙂

    1.1 non-religious people exist in the world. they aren’t killing themselves for example and are mostly happy and content. 🙂

  13. sophister Said:

    Wait, you think there are “smart” kids at NYU. I went there.. and let me tell you something, yeah its not really top tier, and most of the kids there are from NJ trying to live up a “NEW YAWK” life, and pretending they are trendy and cool and intellectual. A majority of the time they are retarded.

  14. Umm Zaid Renegaid Said:

    Euw I hate that word.

    And let’s not pretend that NYU is anything like Bronx Community College or Seton Hall.

  15. Umm Zaid Renegaid Said:

    PS: New Jersey RAWKS.

  16. sophister Said:

    I agree with you, except the kids who are trying to pretend they are new yawkers, but are from new joisey!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

