Things about Hijab that we apparently can’t repeat often enough

I read this great article today about how after so much argument, people STILL see the veil as representing oppression etc. I thought that the tagline, “I’m not oppressed, because I choose to dress this way” was repeated way too much, but the author of this article concludes that it’s not repeated enough.

The article is called Unveiling the Veil. Read it. I know articles about hijab get tiring because the subject is soo overdone, but this one is actually well-written. I got to the page and was rolling my eyes before I even started, but it’s actually not too bad. 🙂
Here are some of my favorite excerpts:

“In your typical introduction to women’s studies class, you might spend a few weeks (near the end of the semester) on “women of color.” If you’re lucky, one class period will be devoted to Islam and feminism. You’ll study a typical “liberal” feminist who criticizes the institution of purdah and asserts that it doesn’t allow women freedom. Then you’ll read the Muslim feminist who waxes lyrically about how she doesn’t have to worry about having abs of steel in time for bikini season. She then goes on to conclude that purdah is just fine, as long as it’s the choice of the woman herself.

At this point, everybody in the class is in solemn agreement: It’s not the fabric that’s the issue. It’s the coercion. No one should have to wear either a hijab or a bikini if she doesn’t want to. Class dismissed.”

“Listening to the Piliafas’ story reminded me that maybe Women’s Studies 101 isn’t that cliched after all. Many people still assume that by placing a piece of fabric on my head, I’ve pitched my brains into the dumpster, given my rights away to any male in a 50-mile radius and buried my voice in the backyard.”

11 Comments »

  1. Zeynab Said:

    Oooh! Thanks for this!

  2. Zeynab Said:

    So I just read it…and damn! That Zoe woman was a full-on racist! EW!
    Anyway, a good read. I’ll definitely include a link to it on MMW.
    Thank you again!

  3. a reader Said:

    nice

  4. hmmm. I liked your interesting article. I’m not sure how I feel about the npr piece though. It was an interesting experiment. butI don’t know what Piliafas learned from the experience. I still don’t think she could wrap her mind around the idea that there are women who would feel naked if they left their homes with their covering.

  5. “At this point, everybody in the class is in solemn agreement: It’s not the fabric that’s the issue. It’s the coercion. No one should have to wear either a hijab or a bikini if she doesn’t want to. Class dismissed.””

    An easy statement to agree with.

  6. […] more.) Today, while I should be studying for my midterms, I’ve been reading Bloglines, and Sacrosanct posted a link to an article entitled “Unveiling the Veil.” And it makes me think of the […]

  7. i’m writing about the hijab here too: http://uniquemuslimah.wordpress.com/2007/10/23/the-new-hijab-weemee-style/

    Seems like it’s a popular topic to be talking about 🙂

  8. sacrosanct Said:

    unique muslimah…
    salam love!!

    “Seems like it’s a popular topic to be talking about”

    you don’t say?

    lol

  9. safiya Said:

    Salaam Alaikum,

    Since we’re sharing posts, I have to say me too:
    http://getoutlines.blogspot.com/2007/10/blame-it-on-burqathis-is-why-i-mod.html

  10. amina Said:

    love all the comments here

  11. Hijab Pins Said:

    Very interesting posts


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

